What to Know About Organic Alcohol


Alcohol is organic when it’s made from organic grains and the majority of the ingredients are organic. Wine, beer, vodka, and rum are all examples of organic alcohol. In the United States, any alcohol that is labeled as “organic” must meet specific guidelines set by the federal government.

If you want to know if a particular alcoholic drink is organic, check the label. Legally, something that can be considered organic must have at least 70 percent certified-organic ingredients or ingredients that are naturally produced without synthetic pesticides or fertilizers.

The remaining 30 percent of the ingredients in an organic product must be on an approved list. If used, they can’t have been produced with prohibited substances such as genetic engineering or ionizing radiation. Additionally, an approved list of processing aids may also be used in small amounts during the production process.

According to Sasma, organic products are becoming popular nowadays. This is true when it comes to organic alcohol as well. It is said to be made with ingredients that are grown only on special organic farms. It is also processed within a dedicated distillery. Here you will not find pesticides and fertilizers that are often seen in conventional counterparts.

Why choose organic alcohol

This type of alcohol should employ production methods that do not have residues that are able to pollute the air, soil as well as water. Therefore organic alcohol is made from products that are free of pesticides as well as fertilizers, chemicals which when ingested often are able to potentially increase one’s risk of getting cancer and other types of health risks.

Chemicals that are utilized to speed up alcohol production are able to leave salts plus heavy metals which can make it through to the end product. Organic producers aim to eliminate these types of chemicals at every stage. This includes from the field going to fermentation as well as bottling. Due to the fact that these alcohols do not have compounds, the drinkers may get diminished hangovers.

However, more research needs to be present to measure the impact organic booze may have on limiting hangovers. Tequila is another great option for those who can’t drink other types of alcohol. Tequila is typically made from the blue agave plant and doesn’t contain any wheat or gluten products. Bourbon, scotch, and whiskey are also gluten-free.

Those with celiac disease can generally drink bourbon, scotch, whiskey, and other hard liquors without having to worry about negative side effects. The distillation process removes the gluten proteins that cause problems for people with celiac disease. Gin — which comes in both distilled and distilled-and-infused varieties — and rum are also gluten-free.

Gin is usually made from corn or potato, while rum is usually made from sugar cane juice and molasses. Getting organic stuff is even more sustainable for the environment. It may not cause much harm to the soil as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

No comments to show.

Get more stuff

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.